University education should be free for everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

It is often argued that higher education must be free of charge for everyone. While I believe that teaching at university should be free for some certain students, I do not think that this privilege must extend to everyone.

On the one hand, I believe that some groups of students must be exempt from tuition fees at universities. Firstly, students who come from poor background are not able to afford to pay tuition fees at universities. For example, many poor students leave the university because of their financial problems. If given free education, it can create an opportunity to proceed the study and can contribute to the society once they graduate: as doctors, teachers, or engineers. Secondly, university education must be free for students with physical disability, as they may have problem to land a job and cover expenses on daily life. Consequently, they may struggle to overlay the tuition fees.

Nevertheless, I do not think that tertiary education do not need to be free for every students. It is not realistically possible to make it free for everyone in most countries, especially developing countries, as universities have their own expenses like materials, salaries of the staff and resources. Secondly, education become for free cause for reduce the quality of education, because they do not appreciate the value of free education. For instance, many pupils at schools are not appreciate the value, after public schools become free for all students. After students start to take it for granted, effect for loss of motivation and effort from students.

In conclusion, although free higher education should be provided to some certain students, such as the ones with physical disabilities or from deprived backgrounds, I do not agree that this privilege must be available to everyone. I believe doing so is neither feasible nor advisable as it can result in a decline in quality of education.