Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays,with the popularity of electronic products in our daily life, some people contend paper-based books are not required any more, while others believed that it still an essential tool for long-term progress of humanity. This essay would illustrate both of those arguments and present my own opinion on that.

On the one hand, paper-based books are considered not adapt to the conception of sustainable development. It is generally known that a large amount of woods would be consumed during the process of paper manufacturing as a crucial raw material. In order to get enough of this industrial material, plenty of forests have to face being cleared, causing series of negative consequences on environment like desertification and soil erosion that would severely jeopardize the ecosystem. Thus, a widely use of electronic reading could effectively mitigate this harmful trend of deforestation with the help of modern technologies.

While, even though paper-based books may be referred to not an environmental -friendly sometimes, it definitely possesses numerous benefits when coming to certain situations. Firstly, we could gain more flexibility in reading time without concerning about certain disruptive stuffs ,for example low battery event, which could waste precious time of readers. In addition, reading a paper-based book is fairly healthier way for people’s eyesight compared to reading an electronic one since no 辐射or blue-ray would be released during it.

Finally, as far as I am concerned, a mixed approach of reading might maximize the satisfication of readers. With electronic products, people don not have to carry those heavy books with them when they need to study out of home, contributing to positive attitude of reading. But, there would be a potential possibility to distract people from reading because of various recreational or commercial information is usually pushed to them automatically. Hence, which form of reading should be taken would better depends on the purpose of the reading at a specific time.