Some people think that railways should be invested rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that investing in railways is more beneficial than roads. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea because railways and roads have unique benefits for travelers.

On the one hand, railways can help transport goods and ensure more safety for people. In detail, nowadays, the demand for goods transportation has increased because of expanding population sizes, especially over large distances from different regions within a nation or even between nations. Since railways can accommodate trains that have large capacities, they are more superior than vehicles on roads. Also, as railways operate independently from others, such as motorbikes or cars, the risk of collision can be reduced, offering safer travelling experiences for passengers.

On the other hand, roads play a very important role in mitigating traffic jams in large cities. It is true that many urban areas around the world are currently experiencing high traffic volume as roads are desgined for multiple vehicles, which leads to vehicular congestion during rush hours that waste a lot of time and money of citizens. When roads can be invested to become larger and more roads can be constructed, the traffic density would decrease, helping people transport in cities better and improve their quality of life.

In conclusion, although there are opinions that railways should be invested more than roads, I believe that they should receive investment at the same time. While railways are better at transporting goods and ensuring passenger safety, roads can mitigate traffic congestions more effectively in big cities.