Some people think that schools are no longer necessary because people can acquire information on the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that people can get any information in the virtual world, that is why they no longer need to study in schools. I totally disagree with this statement because I believe that any information is processed better when there is human and emotional involvement. Also, schools have never been sources of only information – it is also an important social elevator that teaches us soft skills.

The first reason of my disagreement with the abovementioned statement is the fact that people assume any kind of information much better when this part of knowledge is shared in an emotional and understandable form. Indeed, only teachers, professionals in this field, can explicitly explain any information to their students, especially, when they reinforce this knowledge with stories about their experience in the area under discussion. It is known that when people have positive vivid emotions they remember any facts easier. That is why when teachers tell jokes or engrossing stories connected to the topic of lesson, pupils literally absorb this information. The Internet cannot provide people with such a personal involvement, it gives only a specific bare list of facts. Thus, even if this data is read, it is not a guarantee that it will be perceived and processed properly.

The second reason why humanity still needs to have this educational institution is that schools are no longer only a source of information, they are also a place where students get any kinds of skills. Firstly, they are taught soft skills working in team projects there. Secondly, they do sport and study how to be active, healthy and strong. Thirdly, they acquire art skills which are valuable for their critical and creativity thinking. All this knowledge is inevitable for the personality development process. Without them people will not be able to work, to have a personal life and to survive in day-to-day routine. Nothing forces children to use any of these skills while they surf the Net.

In conclusion, while some people argue that schools are not useful anymore as everyone can get all the necessary information in the Internet, I strongly believe that only after listening to teachers, people acquire knowledge properly. Furthermore, schools teach adolescents life-skills which can be acquired only during communicating with each other and doing diverse school activities.