Some people think that schools are no longer necessary because people can acquire information on the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To begin with, schools are the main source of information and basic knowledge for children because of experienced teachers. In comparison with the internet, particularly teachers can explain everything to children in different ways for their entire understanding of the topic while the internet sometimes can give inexplicable explanations or even wrong information. Moreover, teachers give only necessary and useful information that will be required in children’s academic life. For example, a lot of children experience problems with English grammar and endeavor to settle this issue by themselves with the help of the internet. But ,eventually, it becomes clear that only experienced teachers can explain the mistakes and misunderstandings in the way that would be clear for pupils.

Secondly, schools contribute significantly to children’s communication skills and that is why supplanting schools by using only the internet will negatively affect on their social life. In addition, the internet can distract children in different ways and therefore they will not be able to concentrate on their lessons. For example, it was shown by sociologists that children who came back to schools after Covid-19 lockdown and online education became secluded and more introverted. Moreover, according to the founders of Coursera.com – an online education platform, only about one-third of users finish their courses and the rest feel unmotivated to do so because of various distractions that the internet provides.

In conclusion, I can definitely assert that the internet would never supplant schools and the environment in which children gain a wide range of experience and knowledge.