Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell food or drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people's health. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As problems related health have been rising significantly, some individuals have started arguing that the government should implement regulation on food and drink production in supermarkets that can exacerbate health issues. I firmly agree with this view since such a regulation can improve public health and reduce the government expenses.

It is undeniable that health problems such as obesity and heart disease are often associated with regular consumption of processed food and fizzy drinks since they contain high level of sugar and few necessary nutrition. By implementing legislation about prohibiting the sales of such products, the government can significantly contribute to the overall health of ordinary people. To be specific, consumers eventually reduce their consumption of unhealthy food and turn to healthier options, including fruits and vegetables. Many countries, for example, that have enforced such a law reported that health-related problems have significantly decreased over a short period.

Furthermore, a decline in the number of patients thanks to a ban on selling products that are scientifically proven to be unhealthy in retailers means that the government does not need to allocate millions on healthcare. These allocations can be efficiently spent on other fields such as education and scientific developments. For instance, following the introduction of legislation banning these products in Brazil, healthcare expenditure fell significantly in 2023, indicating that the country has achieved both improved public health and greater cost efficiency. From these points of view banning fizzy and unhealthy food can obviously appear reasonable.

In conclusion, the government action on promoting a ban on selling unhealthy items plays an essential role in improving public health and reducing government expenditures.