some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there has been an ongoing debate about how to reduce traffic accidents. Some people argue that punishments should be stricter to prevent driving offences, while others believe that actions should be improved in an effective way for road safety. Although traffic accidents can be reduced by strict regulations, I believe that providing preventive measures is more effective to improve safety on the road.

On the one hand, the proponents of this view argue that stricter regulation can reduce accidents on the road. By restricting regulation, drivers will drive more carefully on the road because they will receive a severe punishment, which makes them undergo a financial fine. For instance, in urban areas, several streets have security cameras to collect data from the drivers. As a result, accidents are declining compared to before implementing the punishment.

On the other hand, the advocates of this view think that people need other actions to prevent accidents and improve safety on the road by building preventive accident facilities. With this measure, drivers who will experience a crash have time to steer the cars into an alternative road facility and stop the cars. For example, several highways in Indonesia have built an additional road to stop the cars initially, even at faster speeds. Consequently, traffic crashes will decline.

From my perspective, individual measures are another important thing to reduce crashes on the road, such as driving carefully. By driving carefully, crashes on the road will decline, and road safety will be improved.

In conclusion, although strict punishments can reduce accidents because of the fear of financial fines, others believe that improving preventive facilities on the road can also decrease the percentage of crashes with additional stopped car roads. I also believe that driving carefully can improve safety on the road.