Some people think that students should learn academic subjects like science and mathematics at school. Others believe that students should also learn practical skills such as cooking and carpentry. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While certain individuals think that education should emphasize academics over learning soft skills, others argue that schools should focus more attention on practical skills such as working in a team and effectively solving problems. This essay agrees that education should be centred around developing each child holistically, rather than solely focusing on academic subjects.

Many people believe that academic subjects such as physics and math are crucial for high valued careers. This mentality is centred around university acceptance. Parents think their children will not obtain successful jobs if they fail to achieve high marks in these courses. While getting good grades for these subjects ensures tertiary education, individuals are not likely to be employed in a high-paying position if the lack practical life-skills such as conflict management. Furthermore, these people are at risk of not being able to successfully budget their finances. For example, individuals are 60% less likely to obtain a managerial position in their desired company if they do not have the necessary qualities to effectively manage a team.

On the other hand, others argue that education should provide increased attention to practical lifeskills. When students have the knowledge and skills to be able to work in a team and effectively solve problems such as conflict, they are better equipped to deal with real-world problems. Therefore, these are learners are in a better position to obtain successful jobs in their desired field. This is because productive companies are inclined to hire individuals who not only have the necessary field knowledge, but rather a combination of human engagement and academic skills. For example, a law firm will not employ someone who has vast knowledge of law but zero skills on human interaction and managerial skills.

To conclude, formal education courses like language skills and science are crucial in tertiary development. However, children who lack important practical skills are not likely to be provided with many job opportunities, therefore it is vital that education follows a holistic approach whereby teaching life lessons are compulsory to ensure the students become functioning members of society one day.