Some people think that students should learn academic subjects like science and mathematics at school. Others believe that students should also learn practical skills such as cooking and carpentry. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays many people have different opinions about education. Some people think schools should focus only on academic subjects like math science and history. However others believe that practical skills are also important for students. In this essay I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

On the one hand academic subjects are necessary because they help students get knowledge and enter university in the future. For example subjects like mathematics and biology are important for many professions such as doctors or engineers. Also schools have limited time and it is difficult to teach too many things. Because of this some people think practical skills should be learned at home from parents.

On the other hand practical skills are very useful in everyday life. Many teenagers do not know how to cook food manage money or pay bills. If schools teach these skills students will become more independent and responsible. For instance learning how to save money can help young people avoid financial problems in future.

In my opinion schools should teach both academic subjects and practical skills. Academic education is important for career and future studies but practical skills are also necessary for normal life. I think balance between these two types of education is the best solution.

In conclusion some people believe schools should only teach academic subjects while others think practical skills are equally important. I believe both of them should be included in school education because they help students in different ways.