Some people think that students should study in their own city, however, many students prefer to study far away from their homes. Do the advantages of studying away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Some believe that students should stay in their home city to study, while many students choose to leave their home cities and prefer studying far away from their homes. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

There is a great reason why students should stay in their own cities to take further studies. When students have to leave their own cities to have further education, financial issues may be an obstacle for them to feel reluctant about taking further education. For example, they will have to be prepared for independent living bills on top of their educational fees, although some may not have wealthy social backgrounds. However, if these students stay in their hometown to live with their parents as they did, they will not have to pay for unnecessary living expenses and can save this money to spend on their future education. Clearly, students staying in their home cities to study would moderate their financial concerns to have further education.

Others argue that students need to leave their home cities to study from a distance to experience independence. When students leave their homes, they will have to be well-prepared and take responsibility for their own lives. For instance, students will have to find where they will board, plan their own studies and consider their financials. These experiences are essential for them to be independent and design their own lives in the future. Obviously, students leaving their home cities may seem to be a disadvantage, although this will provide the necessary skills for them to be independent in the future.

In conclusion, looking at both views, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages because it is essential for students to be ready for independence.