Some people think that students should study in their own city, however, many students prefer to study far away from their homes. Do the advantages of studying away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

There has always been a discussion pertaining to whether it is better for students to study in their hometown or far from their home. Some consider that there are some benefits behind this tendency, while others are skeptical about it and they contemplate that it has more cons than pros. I partially agree with the former standpoint and in the forthcoming paragraphs I shall explain my position

Firstly, there are some inevitable drawbacks that should be advocated and the most detrimental aspect of studying away from homeland is that students will have to experience missing their home, friends, parents and home-made food. As a result, they will be destructed by this feeling of miss while studying. Moreover, it is also deemed that students studying away will face to lack of money owing to increased expenses. Namely, students will have to pay for accommodation, taxes and tuition fees by themselves. Another drawback of this case can be that students who study abstractedly from their home tend to get bad behavior since they are not given appropriate control. They will have no one to say that something is wrong or immoral. For instance, according to morality test conducted in Cambridge University 26 per cent of learners who study there have bad manner and 48 per cent of whom are student whose homes are far away from the university.

While there are unambiguous disadvantages like one mentioned above, benefits are also a great deal and firstly it can be stated that living far from home, without parents student will be forced to organize his/her diary, do house-works such as cooking and washing-up themselves, which can help to form self-confidence as well as self-sufficiency and self-support which will be very advantageous in student’s further life in building his/her family and career. Besides it can also be acknowledged that, students studying far away will be able to act independently and without any interruptions, which will also increase eagerness to learn more and more since they will be able to study regardless the length of time. And this can serve as a means of the way to devise more initiative and cognitive ideas and projects.

In conclusion, there some obvious disadvantageous points for students who study far away from their home, however, there are more beneficial points of this case like aforementioned one and I partially believe that it can outbalance its drawbacks.