Some people think that studying history is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are many ways to approach the idea of studying history. One group of people heavily supports it, in fact they can even propose some policies, which are mainly connected to this idea, for secondary schools and universities. At the same time, people with completely another angle on this statement strongly disagree with making history compulsory.

On the one hand, defenders of idea of studying history can reference their point of view on the countless researches in the history-studying field, that have already been introduced. It is definitely true that teaching history from an immature age is crucial for developing and forming the worldview of the students. It is undeniable that pupils who take humanitarian subjects, especially history, in school tend to absorb valuable information, and create strong knowledge for the future life. For example, in my native country, people who took history classes in the youth seriously, in a more mature age have much less problems with consuming unchecked information from the Internet, whose purpose is to manipulate or even brainwash individuals.

On the other hand, people who struggle with the idea of studying history can offer us their points of view. Indeed, some people can pay less attention to studying history, and spend saved time researching topics, that are personally more interesting to them. For instance, individuals who find themselves curious in math-related things, can consider that studying history is waste of time, rather than great activity. Similarly in schools, colleges, and universities – students who seek their interests in the more technical classes, can treat history negative. In essence, all of these people can not get the main aim of studying history. And despite having good analyzing skills, without basic historical knowledge they can be more vulnerable to propaganda or disinformation.

Ultimately, I, as a history nerd, think that studying history is not waste of time. Due to its impact on human thinking skills it should be encouraged both in pupils and people who have already graduated. Understanding history is essential for everyone, no matter individual preferences and interests. While some argue that study history is irrelevant for today’s world, it definitely can not be ignored.