Some people think that technology will help make the environment better. Others, however, are concerned that the environment will be worse due to technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been much discussion about technology and its effects to our life. Some people hold the view that technology will help make the environment better. Others, nonetheless, are concerned that the environment will be worse due to its development.

On the one hand, it is true to claim that technology has numerous beneficial applications on various aspects, including environmental problems. We may be accustomed to robots and AI – new scientific achievements in the 21st century – they were invented with outstanding functions that help people in a range of fields like statistics, medicine, industry, daily living, etc. As they appear and thrive more and more, they can assist us to plan, arrange and carry out protecting or improving the environment, especially natural wonders, with better accuracy and productivity. To be illustrated, a group of workers need weeks or months to deal with rubbish amounts which cause heavy air pollution, meanwhile technical robots only need a few days to tackle all.

On the other hand, we must acknowledge that technology might have negative impacts on the environment. Factories, skyscrapers, heavy traffic,… in a big city are the main cause to polluting the environment. According to statistics, carbon emissions from those factors account for 3% of the volume in the atmosphere nowadays – a threatening number to the environment. In addition, excessive water, light and noise pollution are also the elements that harm the habitats dramatically. Some people who live in polluted residential areas state that their life is extremely inconvenient and the environment seems harmed significantly.

Ultimately, while there are valid points on each side, I am convinced that life without technological advancement is disadvantageous. The problem is not from technology itself, it comes from our own failure to use it suitably