Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give death penalty. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

People tend to hold different views about whether increasing the time of staying in jails can decrease the number of crimes and also criminal or there are others way to lower these condition. While I accelp that strict prison sentences sometimes can be effective; howerver, it is not true in all cases.

On the one hand, it can be argued that there are two primary reasons why jails can affect on criminals’ behaviours. The main reason is that prisons can change people mind causing a scare to themselves to be catch again. I mean that when an individual are detained, they nearly lost all, society’s beliefs, their confidence, family, and the most important, freedom. Additionally, when staying in jails, prisoners are taught to do plenty of things, for example, vocational training, reintegration or even psychological support. As a result, many criminals after leaving jail have changed a lot, they work hard to rewrite their life to be brighter.

On the other hand, there are also some flawbacks of giving longer prison sentences. Firstly, there are some cases that people may recidivism as a way to revenge, for example. As a result, the rates of relaspe crimes are increasing days by days although they have been punished for a long time. Moreover, when being interned, prisoners lost their freedom and then feeling isolation or fear about everything. Consequencely, numberous choose to escape from jail in order to find freedom, which can cause movements to the others and destroy the infrastructures, wasting thousands of dollars to fix and maintain.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that jails can improve the behaviours of criminals quite effectively, I would contend that not all individuals will change due and some better alternative can be taken, too.