Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Somebody asserts that the information about criminals on newspapers and TV does not affect people well, so it needs to be restricted. From my point of view, I do not totally agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are several disadvantages of updating criminal descriptions on paper-based or on TV. To be more specific, in the modern world, people of different ages always watch TV to update news because of their convenience. Besides, although newspapers are not really popular, they still play an important role so people buy and use them to follow the news. Therefore, if we keep updating lots of information about criminals on these means of media, it will affect many people negatively, especially children by making them nervous. Moreover, people who are committing crimes can see information easily and find ways to escape.

On the other hand, publishing clear criminal descriptions in newspapers and TV can bring numerous benefits for society. Firstly, due to the popularity of TV, technology and newspapers, most people can have access to information about crime. Thus, they can help police to arrest the criminals as soon as they find evidence about them. In addition, it is also an effective way to raise people’s awareness of criminals and protect the safety of society. Secondly, TV and newspapers are not only popular but they are also reputable so that people can know exact information about serious criminals around them.

In conclusion, publishing detailed criminal descriptions on TV and newspapers may cause troubles such as: negative feeling, nervousness, the escape of criminals. However, I believe that it can bring numerous advantages, like raising public awareness, enhancing the safety of society and teaching people how to fight against crime.