Some people think that the government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects in order to develop the country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the government’s approach to various sciences has become a subject of considerable debate. This essay will argue why the state should allocate a larger budget for natural sciences rather than for humanities for the more progressive development of the country and its economy.

The most compelling reason to support this view is the role of science in the life of the citizens of the country. To improve the nation, the government needs to create living conditions with affordable and strong healthcare for all individuals. To illustrate, a lack of investment in the sphere of biology can lead to a shortage of doctors, the outcome invariably negative for the population. Without investing in teaching biology, it is impossible to provide powerful medicine in the land. Consequently, it becomes clear that biology is of great importance to the country.

A further point worth considering is the impact of natural sciences on the country’s economy. This is particularly evident in the field of geology and geography, where giant companies spend huge amounts of money on scientific research. For instance, organizations and government spend months only finding oil glands. It is not only money, but also a geopolitical influence in the region reinforcing the idea that science is essential for country progress.

Admittedly, those who oppose this view maintain that other subject, such as history, languages, philosophy, provide a growth of culture, traditions, and worldview. However, this argument fails to account for the fact that social evolution has a minor effect on state progress. Moreover, humanities subjects hardly need any government investment, which ultimately undermines opposing standpoint.

In conclusion, while there are those who believe in importance of funding other subjects, the evidence strongly suggests that natural sciences need more government investment to make the country prosper. It is therefore recommended to support funding science than other subjects.