Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access to information on the Internet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Libraries have always played a crucial role in educating the society and sharing useful information with the public. However, we have come to question the relevance and usefulness of physical libraries, with many people arguing that libraries are nothing but a waste of money and resources, while others opposing this view. In my opinion, the role of libraries in today’s world is pivotal. Critics of physical libraries point out numerous arguments to support their stance. The rise of the internet and the advent of online reading platforms have facilitated reading and learning as a whole. People can now access a wide range of e-books for free in online libraries and read them anywhere at any time, whether it is on a subway, bus, or in a remote area where physical libraries are absent. This convenience, as critics mention, makes libraries irrelevant in today’s world. world. Another compelling argument put forward is the operating costs of libraries. Unlike an online library that requires little to no cost to operate, physical libraries have to allocate a good amount of money on expenses, including but not limited to communal bills, employee wages, and the purchase of paper books. For all these reasons, many people go against the view that libraries are still important.

As plausible as these arguments are, I side with those who think libraries play a significant role in society. For one thing, libraries serve a greater purpose than critics realize and are not just reading places. In a world where people are constantly bombarded with notifications from different sites and unwanted messages from social media companies, many are unable to focus on a demanding task for a prolonged period of time, which is an important quality that high-level learners possess. In light of this, libraries offer a cozy and distraction-free environment, where people of all ages can study with full focus and cooperate with others who share the same interests.same interests. In addition, a worrying concern is raised by the proponents about the impact that technology can have on health. Spending an inordinate amount of time looking at a bright screen and reading e-books can result in several health issues, such as poor eyesight, constant headaches, and dizziness, all of which reduce quality of life.

Ultimately, while I acknowledge the credibility of arguments given by the critics, I am firmly of the view that libraries play a crucial part in today’s world.