Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Water is the hub of life, and the crisis of our diminishing freshwater resources has also become very severe Therefore, many people feel that governments should impose restrictions on the use of fresh water, where a some people oppose the restraints on water use. This essay intends to look into both standpoints. I, personally side with the former view.

The main reason why some people are in favour of government control on the supply of fresh water is that fresh water is very scarce. Though 75% of the earth is covered in water, only 1% of it is fresh water with the rest being saline in nature. So, fresh water has to be used frugally. Any resource without restriction is bound to result in a wastage of it. For example, in countries like India, where there is shortage of water, people from the upper strata misuse the fresh water in swimming and other water related sports. The main cause of water scarcity is water mismanagement. Thus, this clearly shows that the restrictions on water are required for it to be used in an efficient manner.

On the other hand, a limit on such basic amenity as water does not appeal to many people for the following reason. They say that it would make it an even more valued resource, especially for the underprivileged. For instance, some resourceful rich people could influence some corrupt officials to have more fresh water supplied to them. This would make the barely available water to be even more unaffordable for the people of lower strata. Thus, this clearly shows that restrictions on already less available fresh water would just worsen the situation.

I believe, that the government should have the control on the supply of fresh water, as it is a very precious commodity today. Water is essential for all dimensions of life. Governments should pay attention on freshwater consumption by restricting it’s mismanagement. There should be strict laws against those industries, which are consumption by restricting its mismanagement. polluting underground water by their effluents. The government should also educate and aware the people about ways in which to use water frugally.

To conclude, I firmly believe that fresh water supply should be in government’s hands. Nevertheless, care should also be taken to ensure that the authority controlling water supply would serve all people equally and impartially.