Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s society, people’s perspectives on the regulation of freshwater supplies have shown significant divergence. The question of whether the government should regulate the use of freshwater or whether people ought to have total freedom in how they consume this scarce resource has become a matter of considerable debate. This essay will outline both perspectives before concluding with a personal point of view.

Proponents of regulation assert that water usage should be equitably distributed among people. This is mainly because, for several years, large agricultural and industrial companies have utilized significant portions of public water supplies to improve their productivity. However, people in rural areas have faced serious levels of poverty because of the scarcity of this dwindling resource, which has led to decreased levels of food production and agricultural livelihoods. The proponents of this point of view advocate for the rights of people to have an equal amount of water, and they call on the government to implement strict regulations on water supplies.

On the other hand, opponents of regulation contend that restricted water supplies may stifle economic growth. Obviously, water is an essential element in the development of many sectors, which spur sustainable economic progress. Therefore, governments should allocate funds to utilize technology to help recycle wastewater and build desalination facilities to accommodate the needs of its citizens, rather than the implementation of restrictive policies.

In conclusion, while regulating the usage of freshwater may bring about a more equitable distribution of this element, I firmly believe that governments can achieve sustainable prosperity by utilizing technology to meet the needs of all its people.