Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on (có ảnh hưởng tiêu cực) young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The extensive use of computers and mobile phones has transformed how people communicate, particularly young people. While some argue that depending heavily on these modern devices have detrimental effects on reading and writing skills, others believe the opposite. It is true that technology negatively affects reading and writing skills, but its potential benefits can not be denied.

Firstly, excessive reliance on digital communication can lead to a decline in traditional literacy skills. For example, young people often use texting and social media platforms which allow to use shorthand, slang, and abbreviations that can weaken their knowledge of standard grammar, spelling, and vocabulary. Secondly, Using electronic devices to surf social networks frequently makes it difficult for us to focus on things that require high concentration. Social networking sites are providing news in summary as photos or short videos that only last 10-20 seconds. In this way, the brain is receiving information aimlessly, over time the brain can’t concentrate on reading a book or simply watching a movie.

In addition to the negative points, the use of electronic devices also brings many positive points to improve reading and writing skills. Firstly, technology can also enhance literacy by providing access to a variety of reading materials. Many apps, websites, and e-books make reading materials more accessible, allowing young people to explore different genres and topics.

Secondly, the global network of computers allowed people from different countries around the world to connect with each other. Using messenger and video call applications, people can communicate with others regardless of geographic distance. Since then, online classes have greatly increased.

In conclusion, while the increasing use of computers and mobile phones can indeed have some negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills, it also offers unique opportunities for skill development. The key lies in finding a balance between technology and tradition to foster comprehensive communication abilities in young people.