Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on (có ảnh hưởng tiêu cực) young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the increasing use of electric devices has many drawbacks on young people’s reading and writing skills. While this viewpoint is valid to some extent, I partly agree with this notion as it offers certain benefits. However, there are also some significant drawbacks that should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are several compelling reasons supporting the idea that using computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people skills. Nowadays, many young people spend a significant amount of time using phones and computers to communicate with others. This is mainly because they help young people to communicate more convenient when they do not need to meet offline. As a result, when people use phones and computers with high frequency, it can affect people’s reading and writing skills. For example, many young people have a habit of using abbreviations when receiving messages, which can affect both reading skill and the word meaning. Therefore, young people need to control their time when using electronic devices in a suitable way.

On the other hand, despite the potential advantages, this approach may give rise to several challenges. One major concern is that computers and mobile phones usage does not always have a negative impact, which mainly depends on the way and the purpose of using it. If people use them for study purposes such as reading documents, practicing writing, this will help them improve the vocabulary to enhance writing and reading skills. In the long term, young people can improve and expand their knowledge.

In conclusion, although this approach has certain benefits, it also has some notable drawbacks. Therefore, I believe that a balanced approach should be adopted.