Some people think that the main purpose of business is to make money. Others believe that businesses should also have social responsibilities, such as protecting the environment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many contend that the primary goal of entrepreneurship and business is to earn money, while others assert that it is of paramount significance for the businesses to also have environmental duties including the protection of our surroundings. This essay will examine both perspectives and conclude with why I believe having social responsibilities for the businesses are pivotal.

On the one hand, in most of the nations, individuals and companies have a generic purpose of making the maximum amount of profit. This is largely due to growing up with a fixed mindset that says, “business makes money”. Entrepreneurs and start-up founders focus solely on building their businesses in a pattern where it can be later scaled into an entire empire, thus, making millions if not billions in revenue. As an example, a recent survey done in New York demonstrates that, when asked about their purpose to a significant number of founders, a common answer is recorded which is to achieve financial freedom.

On the other hand, I strongly agree that businesses shouldn’t be limited to generating revenue rather contributing to the society. Large industries and factories often produce toxic and harmful waste that seldom causes pollution including air and water pollution, even if situated far away from residential areas. As a result, these organizations should help to keep the environment clean and carbon free by building up a community and being more cautious in terms of waste production. For instance, industries can hire a team of experts to regulate the production unwanted by-products.

To conclude, while achieving financial success serves as a major purpose for numerous businesses, it is more crucial for them to look after the impact they have on the society and environment and try to work on their duties for the nation and citizens.