Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect. Discuss both and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether the prevalence of the internet is bridging the gap of economical disparity. Personally, I believe that the development has generated new opportunities for the poor to challenge their social-economic background and helps narrowing their gap with the wealthy.

To begin with, the internet increases access for learning. There are numerous online courses organised by well-known constitutions that are free to learn. Through partaking in these classes, individuals can gain skills essential for tertiary careers, assisting them in earning a higher salary to improve their current status. Furthermore, with courses revolving around finance, people can gain guidance in both investment and savings. This in turn helps them in managing their finances effectively. The education opportunities available to all therefore helps with one’s personal development and lessen the gap of the financially disadvantaged with the rich.

In addition to that, the rise of the internet has created non-mainstreamed job opportunities. One of the industries that is influenced by this is the creative sector. As the social media platforms are now ubiquitous, content creation becomes an increasingly popular job. The fact that no prior experience is needed provides great flexibility, meaning that social class isn’t a barrier to accessing the job. Hence, financial input is not necessary to start a career. This consequently allows less wealthy ones to use such opportunities as a side hustle to gain more income. If they get famous, they will even gain a relatively high profit. The new job market provided by the internet is thereby igniting hopes for poorer ones in transforming their economical status.

Although the internet can bring many opportunities in improving one’s financial position, there are concerns about the poor ‘s access to it. Some individuals suggest that the less wealthy ones often receive less guidance in using the internet due to their education background and inability to afford high-end technologies. They see this as a hindrance in acknowledging the existence of the opportunities. However, if the community can arrange workshops teaching people how to make the most of the internet, this concern can be easily resolved.

Overall, whilst concerns are seen on the limited access of internet, the economic opportunities internet surpassed it. Therefore in my opinion the internet is a helpful tool in narrowing the financial gap between the rich and the poor.