Some people think that the world will eventually have only one language. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is believed that one global language will replace existing ones in the future. I am convinced that the drawbacks of this are much greater than the possible advantages. Even though humanity will be able to completely understand each other in every part of the world, a plethora of people will lose their job and worldwide cultures will be forever vanished.

On the one hand, using one language in the whole world might connect individuals with one another. This is because when travelling to foreign countries, tourists will feel much more at home as if the other foreign language was commonly spoken. For instance, if someone from Australia travelled to Japan, they would have much easier time exploring the country and connecting with people. Thus, having one common language is beneficial for the ability to bring people from different cultural backgrounds and ethnicities together.

Nevertheless, this idea has a detrimental effect on the language employment sector and worldwide cultures. The reason for this is that a lot of individuals around the globe work with languages, and, if those lose importance, employees will consequently have lost their job. For example, there will be no need for translators, scholars, and others whose jobs involve using or studying languages. Also, having a global language will erase cultures, their traditions, and everything that makes humanity so unique. The world will become one big international school where individuals will behave similarly to each other, since their cultural background will not matter and be forgotten. From my experience of meeting people who graduated from international schools, I noticed that they behave similarly to each other, use the same style of communication, do not respect their background, and often mention that at one point in life they encounter identity crisis issues.

To conclude, even though some groups of people think that there will only be one language left in the world, I highly doubt that this development will have more positive sides that the negative ones. The risk of individuals losing their jobs and cultures disappearing hugely outweigh the possibility of a better connectedness among people that might not even be achiev

ed.