Some people think that urbanization is a positive development, some do not. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is thought that urbanization is necessary for the development of the world, while according to some, including me, it can be a negative trend.

On the one hand, urbanization could create a wide variety of opportunities in terms of jobs, education and transport. In other words people in urban areas are more likely to find well-paid jobs in the labour market or students could get better education by studying in different universities or going to learning centers which are not highly developed in rural areas. Moreover, urban citizens are able to access public transport easily which could help people to commute to their work and studies in a frequent, punctual and affordable way. This can, in turn, provide urban people with a comfortable life rather than those in rural areas.

I, however, believe that urbanization could have an adverse effect on the environment. It is because the large number of people trees are usually cut down in order to create urban places. As well as cities should be filled with different modern vehicles, which could cause environmental issues. It is true that trees or other green zones are the national protection of the environment from some toxic gases and carbon dioxide emitted from transport or industries. If they are not enough, air pollution can be highly observed in the atmosphere which means that people can be deprived of breathing fresh air and they can suffer from this environmental issue.

In conclusion, although urbanization could make people’s lives easier, much like certain people, I consider that its drawbacks can be devastating for the environment and people’s health.