Some people think that video games are advantageous, while others believe video games are harmful to the people who play them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays almost all of people who have access to online or video games play them regularly and it has become a norm. While there are obviously some benefits to playing video games, there also may be some negative consequences if it is abused.

Undoubtedly, playing playing video games has some advantages and brings about some considerable improvements in the development of especially children’s brains as they learn to problem solve and develop their vision and coordination while playing. In some cases teens, children and adults are influenced beneficially through positive social interaction while playing video games as they work together as a team and solve problems as a group. These kind of experiences develop dexterity in players and also develop their parts of brains such as frontal and occipital lobes.

However, there are some significant disadvantages. For example, some people develop an addiction to the games. This in its turn leads to skipping school or work, having social problems and receiving poor grades at school or having problems at work. Some people escape into fantasy world and it is difficult for them to land back in reality. Playing video games may distract teens from their lives and studies and friends. Teenagers also may transfer the violence they see in video games into the real world. Some researchers say that violent games may raise aggression and lower self-control in people who play them.

To conclude, I believe that everything should be experiences in moderation. People shouldn’t go to extremes playing video games. It shouldn’t become an addiction, it should only help them develop and taken up as a hobby.