Some people think that violent films and video games have negative effects on people and should be banned. Others think that they are just relaxation sources. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over whether movies and computer games involving cruelty should be stopped as they affect on society negatively with others arguing that they are not detrimental and help people to relief their minds. In my opinion, although violent entertainment may influence some individuals, it should not be banned since its negative effects largely depend on how people see it, as a source of entertainment or stimulus to be aggressive.

Some believe violent content may lead to aggressive behavior especially children and teenagers. They spend most of their time in front of screens, watching and playing vicious content and become so engaged in them that they might not distinguish between fiction and reality. They become less sensitive to violence and more likely to tackle problems in aggressive way. Others believe that such entertainment is not harmful and is not necessarily lead to savage behavior as most viewers and players are know the boundaries between fiction and reality.

Banning violent games and films is not necessary. Although they may affect a small proportion of individuals some, however, understand violent is portrayed fictional and they are able to switch from virtual reality to real one. They are less likely to imitate what they watch or play. Banning such type of entertainment would limit individuals’ freedom to choose how to spend their free time or just a way to have some fun. That is why I believe that potential actions do not justify the total prohibition.

In conclusion, while some people believe that computer games and films encourage hazard actions so they must be prohibited. That said, others consider it as a type of having fun, spending pastime or just relaxation. Therefore, it is not essential and unjustified to ban them.