Some people think that we learn best through in - person interaction with a teacher in a classroom. Others believe that online is more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While there are people who think that learning is best done through in-person interaction with a teacher in a classroom, there are others who beg to differ. They say that online learning is much more effective when it comes to learning than in-person interaction with a teacher. Both above opinions have some merits and some demerits. An in-person interaction can ensure a greater bonding with the teacher and thus increases the chance of retaining knowledge learnt in classrooms. But not everyone can attend these classroom sessions in-person, rather due to internet connectivity one can attend the classes from anywhere in the world. I personally think that they supplement each other if used properly and effectively.

Most people are of the opinion that in-person interactions with a teacher in a classroom is better since many of these people went to such classes. Therefore, they speak from their experience and strongly think that in-person interaction with a teacher can do wonders for a student wherein a teacher can always be there in front of the students. For example, a research study has concluded that in-person interactions with a teacher leads to higher percentages of students asking and clearing doubts. This leads to better understanding of the topic. On the other hand, Online learning is a new way of learning where the only things you need is a smartphone or pc with strong internet speeds. Online learning has gained prominence after the Pandemic when schools and colleges were closed. Hence, a new method of learning was required to facilitate teaching in those difficult times. In online learning, a teacher hosts a lecture on the various apps available for online learning on the app-store for a given topic. The students then are required to join in the lecture from their devices. This ensures that learning never stops.

If you asked me about the two different methodologies of learning, I won’t be able to choose a single option from the above two. Mainly because each of these options have its own advantages and disadvantages. If classes are conducted only in an offline setting, some students would find it difficult to attend the lectures as they would have to spend a lot of their time travelling to the institution from their homes and back. Whereas if classes are conducted only in online mode, then students who do not have the required piece of hardware would not be able to attend the lecture. There must be a common ground such that students can get the maximum out of their education. For example, lectures on important topics can be done using offline interaction and lectures on less important topics can be done using the online method. This will ensure the best of both worlds for students thus increasing their grades.

There are people who think that in-person interaction is better for students while there are some who think that online learning is a more effective choice. Both are excellent choices but nevertheless each of them lacks in some way or the other. It basically leads to the need to use both of these options effectively such that the learning of the students are not hampered in any way.