Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that it should be mandatory for the young to engage in voluntary work to support those who are in need. While this practice may cause several problems relating to wasting valuable time and the exploitation of the young, the overall impact is tremendously positive.

Many people are unable to participate in volunteer activities due to the amount of time they consume. To become qualified to offer assistance to others in the community, volunteers must invest their free time in learning about procedures, regulations, and essential skills. If participation in these activities becomes mandatory for people with busy schedules, they may not have enough time for rest and relaxation, which can lead to mental health issues such as stress and depression.

However, encouraging young people to help others enhances their moral development. This is because such action enables young people to understand the predicaments of those in need, such as the disabled and the poor. It also helps them build professionalism and teamwork develop at a young age. Furthermore, having these experiences in volunteer work could improve the chances of employment for young people in the future. This can be explained by looking at two criteria employers often seek: collaboration and responsibility. As mentioned earlier, these two attitudes are what the volunteer experience could offer to young people.

In conclusion, while there are drawbacks to forcing young people to partake in charity work such as wasting precious time, these are surpassed by the positives including better morality and increased chances of employment.