Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While certain individuals claim that zoos should be banned due to their harmful effects on animals, others believe that they are a perfect way to defend animals in danger. In my opinion, although zoos have some pros such as protection of animals, they are still too dangerous for many creatures.

On the one hand, this kind of places can play a crucial role in a way to make safe animals, especially the weaker ones, since there are a lot of and various kinds of dangers, which can lead to decline of their species or even their disappearance. Some of these dangers are wild animals and bad weather conditions. Pure nature is not that protective in these cases compared to zoos. In addition, animals can face some problems as they cannot even provide themselves with some daily needs such as food and settlement place that plays a vital role in their entire life. Zoos prevent all of those.

On the other hand, zoos have some cons like cruelness caused by human control, which gives less freedom to animals. They sometimes feel extremely alone due to this policy. Furthermore, the reason why lately some animals face various illnesses is that humans do not let them to develop themselves physicall as in their own natural habitat. Those things are kind of “animal hunting” according to some nature activists since they are somehow similar in the case of destroying animal species.

In conclusion, while some argue that zoos are protective, others believe that zoos are evil places for animals. Coming to my opinion, while I agree with that zoos have several beneficial aspects, I strongly support the idea which claims zoos as harmful destinations that should be closed.