Some people think the government should provide free housing, while others believe it is not the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been much controversy whether it should be the government’s responsibility to fund for health and education or not. Although both viewpoints are valid, I prefer the former statement.

On the one hand, people who advocate individuals paying for the services may point to the high taxes that may be imposed when there is government’s financial support. It is understandable that the money used to pay for education and health care mostly comes from citizens’ income. Hence, this may take a heavy toll on the financial aspects of many people, especially the poor. Take Germany for example, while the tuition fee for children under 18 and university students are free, German citizens have to pay a lot of money on taxes, up to 40 percent, which is much higher than in other countries in the same region. Clearly, it is therefore believed that government should not pay for health care and education.

However, I side with those who state that governmental support in education and health services is necessary. First and foremost, I believe the merits of this can surpass the drawbacks mentioned: although it causes a greater financial burden, this fund can actually help foster the economy. It can be explained by the fact that the act of subsidizing health care and tuition fees creates opportunities for more people to access these essential services, therefore citizens are more likely to have secure jobs and live healthy lives, contributing to the development of their country. For instance, also in Germany, there are many scientists and experts in diverse fields as the literacy rate is high and every child has a chance to access to higher education. Moreover, this support is also helpful to poor families, who normally cannot afford education fees or health services. Clearly, it is advantageous when the government has financial support for education and healthcare.

In conclusion, while some people oppose the idea of government funding for education and health care as it can lead to high taxes imposed on them, I strongly advocate the opposite as this can help foster the economy, as well as supporting poor families.