Some people think violent films encourage criminal behaviour. To what extent do you agree?

The Lion’s share of society always felt sense of hatred and anger towards criminals, yet, there have always been people who sympathized outlaws. Nowadays, films or video games about people who violate laws are on the top in their fields. However, the question about whether these films encourage individuals to criminal behaviour or not is still open for debate. I think films and other content have small contribution to crime.

First of all, Cinema about criminal life is indeed often portraying bad guys as heroes who fight for their values or ideas against corrupt government or unjustified system. In that kind of cinematography criminals are cool guys, their image is often romanticized .That is why, some people want to be like main characters of these films, they want to be like them, with name, reputation and money. However, problem here is not in films, but in bad upbringing, education and system of values. People who are educated well and were raised in good environment are less likely to see the admiration in criminal or even further, follow in their footsteps. If they have critical thinking, they will see the other side of the coin, full of pain and endangering themselves and their close ones. Criminals who are encouraged by that kind of films are “bad apples”, who again either had mental illnesses or were uneducated enough to understand the devastating aftermath of crime they did.

In conclusion, In my opinion criminal cinematography is just art that reflects the violence already present in the human condition, it does not invent it. Consequently, crime is first and foremost caused by lack of emotional and informational intelligence and bad values, that were formed during the childhood.