Some people think watching television is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your opinion

TV has been one of the most influential inventions in recent decades, but its impact is often disputed. People have different views as to whether watching television has negative impacts on children or it might be a educational tool to get various information.

Both schools of though could be true in their own rights, but I agree with former view.

One argument in favor of watching TV is good for children is that it might serve as a valuable educational tool to get various information. That is to say, when children watch a range of educational programs, they can acquire knowledge or skills which help them later on their lives. For example, there are many channels that produce educational content such as Discovery and National Geographic. This might be really helpful for children to enhance learning and promote critical thinking. Moreover, because of availability of programs especially documentaries might make learning process more interesting and interactive. As a result children may get information not only about scientific subjects but also other cultures and traditions worldwide. Given that, some people may consider watching television is one way to learn for children.

However, the opposite argument is that watching television is bad for children since its negative effects on their physical and mental health. In other word, when children spent a lot time in front of screen, it can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. This case can cause health issues like obesity, neck and back pain or eye sore. In addition, children usually tend to copy the behaviour they see on the screen. Because of programs contain inappropriate content promoting violence might form aggressive behaviour. Consequently, this can contribute to increasing crime rate among children. Take this into account, TV companies should make more positive programs and contents. Furthermore, television can be a significant distraction reducing time spend on more productive activities like reading or playing outside. Children who are addicted to watching television might show poor ac