Some people think watching TV is a waste of time. Others believe it is useful for learning. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people reckon television is just the main cause of wasting time. However, others suppose you can get a lot of useful information by watching TV. In my opinion, both ideas are true depending on how people use it.

Of course, watching TV is one of the most useful actions to collect information and learn something new. For instance, you can watch scientific or historical programs and discover facts that you never knew before. I believe that many people, especially children, learn predominantly polite words and good manners from watching educational programs. Moreover, it might be therapeutic after a hard working day. Take older men, for example; of course they prefer watching TV when the day has been stressful for them.

However, it might also be harmful for us if we use it incorrectly. As far as I’m concerned, it can be a waste of time sometimes. For example, if you watch TV instead of doing your homework or reading books, it will be the predominant cause of your failure. In my view, you should schedule your time properly and choose what to watch carefully. Just because you are watching a “useful” project doesn’t mean you will automatically become wise. Don’t forget, even good things can become harmful if you overuse them.

In conclusion, I would argue that setting a clear time limit is one of the main principles for achieving your goals. Television can be very useful and entertaining; however, you should never forget to control your time and use it wisely.