Some say social media improves communication. Others say it destroys real relationships.

Talking about social media, many people face the dilemma of whether it has improved the way people communicate with others, or it has damaged their personal relationships. Despite argument against, I firmly believe that social media brings positive impacts for interaction.

On the one hand, using social media is appealing for many people, particularly in interaction with their relatives, friends and families, and I agree with this view. Firstly, application such as WhatsApp and Instagram can be used to reconnect with old friends or to maintain conversation with families who live in different nations. This type of communication might be cheaper and faster than when people need to book flights to travel abroad. Secondly, social platforms such as Line and Snapchats provide more channels of communication, like emojis, text and voice, so that people might obtain more options to express their feelings depending on their preferences and situations.

On the other hand, utilizing social platforms to interact might bring negative effects for some individuals. The main reason is that it possibly creates miscommunication, especially in text form. If people talk face to face, they will understand the substance of their conversation easier that when they just read messages. It happens because they might make assumptions regarding the meaning of the text, without clarifying first to the sender. Another plausible argument is that individuals cannot reach out their families without having access to the Internet, especially for residents who live in remote areas. This condition is exacerbated by the fact that the distribution of facilities, such as Internet, is not equal in some areas, particularly in underdeveloped places.

In conclusion, although it seems that social media leads to negative impacts in communication, I would still argue that this online platform benefits people. It is because this tool may improve communication to be more borderless and provide more varied option to communicate.