Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for their study

It is still an ongoing debate that what decision a school graduate should take regarding their further career path. While some people believe that school leavers should enroll in the university as it will be significantly helpful for them not to waste their valuable time, I strongly support that students should go to work in areas they prefer or travel anywhere to identify their true goals. This essay will discuss both perspectives.

One the one hand, many school leavers take a gap year after their school graduations to consider their ambition. One of the main advantages of this approach is they can know necessity through joining a part-time job or exploring the world. Many individuals often feel confused about what their future moves. By taking a sabbatical during this time, they prefer to join a job or travel to know their instinct instead of pursuing another qualification. In the meantime, if they feel they need further education that will be an effective idea to apply to the university, otherwise they may elect wrong career, leading them into burden. For example, American students barely enroll in the next graduation if it does not require them. However, some people feel that this practice has noticeable downsides.

On the other hand, some critics believe that school graduates should go to the university as soon as possible. One significant disadvantage of taking a break after school is that students may waste valuable time that could otherwise be used for academic or professional development. Many graduates become aimless and lose focus on their future, they spend this time unproductively, consequently. Furthermore, many students feel that they need higher education to get a job in this highly competitive world. Many Indian students pursue a bachelor’s degree immediately after secondary school without having a break, for instance.

However, I firmly believe that students should take time off and spend time engaging in several activities to discover their passion so that they can make well-informed decisions about their career path. It has more benefits that can outweigh its disadvantages.