Some scientists think that computers will soon become more intelligent than humans. While some people think this will be a positive development, other people are worried about the negative effects. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

Many scientists claim that computers will gain more intelligence than humans in the future. I completely disagree with this viewpoint because human beings are the ones who are responsible for the production of computers and AI lacks some characteristics that people have.

Firstly, computers and AI are human-made inventions. Therefore, they cannot surpass the intelligence of their creators. Humans design, program, and maintain computers, meaning that all AI capabilities are rooted in human ingenuity. People are responsible for all aspects of computers’ productivity. For example, AI systems like ChatGPT rely on pre-programmed algorithms provided by humans. Without input from humans, computers may fail to function effectively, which makes their performance much more unstable.

Furthermore, computers lack characteristics such as emotional intelligence and creativity. It is indeed crucial to have these aspects in order to navigate complex social interactions and create art-involved things. For instance, psychologists are capable of understanding the emotional extent of human struggles, while artists can generate original ideas. In each of these examples, AI systems may not be the most effective option. It makes it clear that, although they can come close to the human level of intelligence, computer systems will always be less versatile than people’s brains.

In conclusion, many people believe that computers are capable of replacing people and will soon be more intelligent than human beings. However, I disagree with this statement because there is an obvious absence of certain features in computer systems. Since AI technologies are pre-programmed by humans, it is less likely that they will surpass humans’ intelligence by any means.