Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some of the population think that applying tax on unhealthy food will lead people in buying healthy food. According to me, I agree to it partially as it will not be quite beneficial to the people.

To begin with, increasing tax on unhealthy food will bring some disadvantages as due to high cost of food people will prefer healthier option for the same. For instance, if someone wishes to have bread but due to its high rate they may prefer to have a chapati instead. Moreover, as individual will turn to healthy diet, there will be decline in number of medical problems such as obesity, indigestion, and much more.

Additionally, there are numerous disadvantages like those families with low income or are on daily wages who used to prefer those food with lower price rate to complete their body needs will have to compromise with their requirements of food intake as they cannot afford healthy food. For this can be resolved if instead of applying tax on unhealthy food, the regulating body should keep some intensive or rewards for those who purchase healthier version of it. Furthermore, there is no guarantee that the tax amount which is received will be used for enhancing public’s condition. Additionally, the choice of intake of food completely depends on individual as our country follows Democracy. So increasing tax on unhealthy food will be totally against human rights.

In conclusion, increasing tax over junk food will not be a complete solution. Rather than this, spreading awareness about healthy diet and offering benefit for individuals who follow good diet will bring more effect on it. So, raising tax will not lead to healthy diet to much extent but will bring other problems with it.