Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, as fatty and fast foods become more and more popular in almost every corner of the globe, many people consider that the government should encourage people to adopt a healthier diet by taxing junk food. Although some may think unhealthy diet might be advantageous, I firmly believe that ultra-processed foods do more harm than good, and they should be taxed.

One main reason why I agree with this policy is that higher prices can reduce the immense amount of junk food people often buy. When the cost of ultra-processed foods and soft drinks increases dramatically, the price of a healthy diet might seem cheaper. Consequently, the majority of people tend to purchase cuisines and drinks that are at affordable prices; for instance, in some countries where a sugar tax has been introduced, sales of fast foods, soda, and energy drinks that contain a high amount of sugar have declined considerably. In addition, processed foods might lead to an increase in obesity among individuals. In fact, high-risk illnesses such as cancer and cardiovascular diseases are often caused by the overconsumption of junk food and sedentary lifestyle, and by taxing them the government may mitigate the issue.

Another reason worth mentioning is that, not only does taxing processed foods and sodas help people to eat healthier, but it also enhances the financial budget of governments. Having introduced high taxes on foods that are unhealthy, the government can generate substantial revenue. Thus, the government will be able to allocate more money to improve various sectors ranging from healthcare and education to the military. A good example can be seen in countries such as Japan and France, where sugar tax is widely applied in various products, have been investing a substantial amount of money sectors in particular schools and hospitals.

To sum up, I believe imposing taxes on junk food is an effective way for governments to address public health problems. It would encourage people to eat healthier cuisines, and it may lead to the allocation of funds to particular fields.