Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the regime should impose a tariff on eating fast food, which is not beneficial for humankind. This step will stimulate the masses to consume staple foods. I completely agree with this statement because the overweight problem can be resolved well, as traditional food cannot lose its value in modern society.

To begin with, due to fast-paced lives, people are consuming more instant food and creating a problem of obesity. A government can progress well if its citizens are robust. Therefore, imposing a tax on junk food is mandatory. Resultantly, individuals will eat less frequently, and they will tend to eat more healthy food to keep themselves in good physique. To exemplify this, economic recession, as well as a hike in prices of canned foods, has drastically reduced the intake of readymade food. This largely happened during COVID-19, and people have shifted their preferences to homemade foods. Thus, this approach will reduce the expenditure of people, who can use that portion of their income on other useful things.

Moving further, putting a tax on unhealthy food will maintain the value of traditional food, which is unpopular among people due to its time-consuming process. To elaborate, readymade food can be prepared instantly, while homemade food takes a lot of time, and a lot of labor is needed to prepare it. Therefore, people avoid making it, and consequently, its value in society decreases. So, if the government puts a tax on it, then it is beneficial to revive cultural foods. Because a country is best known for its food, and if it is lost, then the identity of a country will be at stake. Imposing a tax is highly needed to make people remember their cultural foods.

To conclude, thus, it is ostensible that having a tax on unhealthy food is mandatory for the sake of the good health of the people as well as for reducing their financial burden. Moreover, traditional foods can be saved, which are disappearing in modern society.