Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the regime should impose a tariff on eating fast food, which is not beneficial for mankind. This step will stimulate the masses to consume staple food. I completely agree with the statement because the overweight problem can be resolved well as traditional food cannot lose its value in modern society.

To begin with, due to fast-paced life, people are consuming more instant food and creating a problem of obesity. A government can progress well if its citizens are robust. Therefore, imposing a tax on junk food is mandatory. Resultantly, individuals will eat occasionally, and they will tend to eat more healthy food to keep themselves in a good physique. To exemplify it, economic recession, as well as a hike in prices of canned food, has drastically reduced the intake of readymade food. This largely happened during COVID-19, and people have shifted their preferences to homemade food. Thus, this approach will reduce the expenditure of folk, who can use that portion of their income on other useful things.

Moving further, putting a tax on unhealthy food will maintain the value of traditional food, which is unpopular among people due to its time-consuming process. To elaborate, readymade food can be prepared instantly, while homemade food takes a lot of time, as well as a lot of labor, is needed to prepare it. Therefore, people avoid making it, and consequently, its value in society decreases. So, if the government puts a tax on it, then it is beneficial to revive cultural food. Because a country is best known for its food, and if it is lost, then the identity of a country will be at stake. Imposing tax is highly needed to make people remind about their cultural food.

To conclude, thus, it is ostensible that having a tax on unhealthy food is mandatory for the sake of good health of the people as well as for reducing their financial burden. Moreover, traditional food can be saved, which is disappearing in modern society.