Some universities now offer their on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, many universities, even the prestigious ones provide online lessons for students. There many disadvantages of this development, however its advantages surpass them.

Providing distance-learning for some big universities can make many problems. First of all, lack of communication with tutors. Sometimes interacting with professors should be essential to fully understand the topic or the assignment. Moreover, technical issues might be an obstacle for learning online. For instance, bad connection to the internet in more remote areas or some problems with devices such as laptops or phones make learning uncomfortable for students.

However, online learning can give more opportunities to gain and improve student’s knowledge. One of the reasons for this is that it helps to thousand of students to attend to the classes without the need to be in the university. Many students can be in the other city or even in the other country, so they cannot afford living and learning in the other city, and that’s why this is the big opportunity to learn without spending extra money. At last but not least, such a development extremely comfortable for the learners. Students cannot always be in the lessons because of many reasons such as illness or family problems but with online classes, they can always review the lesson and they would not came off from the learning.

In conclusion, setting up online courses by universities has many negative sides for the students. Despite, online learning can be more advantageous in terms of budget and comfort, so that is why I think it is extremely positive development.