Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

In recent times, rural people globally are moving to cities and urban areas which results in decline in the population in countryside. While it has negative effects for the population size, I am of the opinion that it is a positive development.

To start with detrimental effects that can affect on countryside, the most essential one is labor shortage. What I mean is that if majority of individuals will move to urban areas, the shortage of workers on farms will have serious impact on agriculture which can result in higher prices of food products because there will be not enough people to plant or harvest crops .

To continue with positive benefits, the first and primary one is better employment opportunities.

People find it hard to commute to work from the rural places and this maybe of the important reasons why they move out. For instance, an individual works a doctor in city but their home is located far way from their work and they decide to move closer to workplace. As a result, this may cut down their daily and weekly expenses they spend on road.

In conclusion, although it is detrimental for countryside to have less population, I hardly believe that it is the best choice of people they made in their life.