Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

In this developing era, more and more scientists are curious about space and the possibility of finding terrestrial life on the other planets in the solar system. While space exploration costs a substantial amount of money, there are beneficial and negative aspects of it.

On the one hand, space exploration will give humans a chance to find new habitable environments, and mitigate the impacts of global warming and pollution on Earth. Many aerospace companies, including Space X and NASA have been launching space shuttles to the Moon to investigate the potential for life over the past few years. Consequently, in 2023 these companies cooperated and found a water source on the Moon. Moreover, space projects help us to enhance the quality of GPS systems and the accuracy of weather conditions. For example, Elon Musk is about to launch his new project which is driverless taxis with two seats. These cars will be operated by the new GPS systems and robots. These projects provide us with innovations in communication systems, and new materials.

On the other hand, despite the advantages, space exploration has some drawbacks as well. One is for our society. Scientists and governments allocate approximately $100 million annually to space research and most of them have failed many times. Instead of that, these sums of money would have contributed to society. Many people are suffering from famine and poverty. By contributing this amount of money which is used for space projects, they can overcome these problems. Besides, it will risk the lives of the astronauts during their space missions. Take an example, the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded, and all crew died within a few seconds which brought a huge loss of one’s life.

In conclusion, space is a vast area of interest and with many opportunities for modernization such as advancements in technology and discovery of new habitable environments. However, it has also some negative implications for the public, including the misallocating of resources that could be better spent addressing public issues like poverty and famine.