Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, it is becoming increasingly common for some people to travel in space. I am of the opinion that this change might bring about two main benefits in the long run.

One primary positive outcome of space tourism is that it contributes to the development of innovation and science. That is to say, when people aim to go into space, they need a wide range of technologies, leading to the creation of many tools and equipment. For example, take NASA’s research into lightweight materials: initially designed for spacecraft, they are now used in prosthetic limbs, making mobility accessible to thousands of people. As a result, this not only helps improve technological advancements, but also encourages scientists to innovate new things. If it were not for space exploration, many modern technologies would not exist today. Given that one of the most important discoveries in the world was made by scientists to explore space, space exploration is more important than many people think.

Another positive impact is that the space industry creates new job opportunities. In other words, it fuels entire economies by creating thousands of jobs in engineering, software development, manufacturing, and even law. For instance, currently, millions of people are employed in related industries, significantly reducing the unemployment rate. Consequently, there are fewer people living in poverty. However, opponents argue that it is too expensive to invest in this field, as it requires a lot of funding and resources. Therefore, they believe that this money should be spent on more urgent terrestrial issues, including education, healthcare, and poverty.

In conclusion, although space exploration is costly, I believe, this bring about many scientific and economic benefits in the long term.