Stores should sell local food products and not the imported food products. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether imported food products should be banned from the cultures and whether stores should only promote local foods. This essay totally agrees with the statement as imported foods can have poor labelling, which can cause serious allergic reactions for consumers. Firstly, imported goods can induce risk to health; secondly, it will lead to homogenisation of cultures.

Initially, overseas food products can pose a significant threat to health because imported products may contain contaminants such as unapproved veterinary drugs, pesticides, or bacteria due to lax food safety standards in some exporting countries. For instance, in India many products have poor packaging and labelling problems which can cause high risks for people. As a result, the rate of patients will dramatically increase and hospital fees will become more expensive resulting government economy weakening over time.

Another significant aspect is globalization, as the imported food products will cause culture’s locally food to disappear which can lead to cultural homogenization, severe nutritional deficiencies, and food insecurity. When imported, heavily processed foods replace traditional staples, local foodways often disappear, leading to a loss of culinary diversity. To exemplify, in European countries many junk foods are imported from the USA, which caused huge loss in cultural food among people. Hence, promoting local foods in stores will help to teach younger generations about their diversity and value.

To sum up, governments should ban foreign food from local shops and stores, as it threatens the long-term stability of cultural food traditions, and overall economic self-reliance.