Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

One of the biggest problem in modern society is stress. This essay will discuss what are the reasons of this problem and solutions can be provided.

The reasons why many people experience stress can stem from various things. I believe some of them are more common among people. Firstly, Social Media, Modern people today, have access to social media which previous societies have never had. Social media is the sum of various platforms where people can display their lives, follow and influence other people. This practice tends to be addictive. Average person today can have 6 to 7 hours of screen time. When one lacks that exposure to social media, he or she might experience the fear of missing out, a phenomenon resulting from social media influence. This can create stress and impact mental health. Secondly, while cost-of-living increasing, purchasing power has been decreasing over the years. Historically, a family could live with a single salary. Today, in order to live with the same standards, both spouses have to work and earn money, which prevents them from spending more time with family. This creates problems in work life balance and therefore causes stress in people’s lives.

Tackling these problems is not easy, but there are actions that can be taken. For instance, limiting screen time during the day can be beneficial. Setting trackers on the phone might help people to adjust their time spent on social media. Another action to reduce stress in societies can be supporting families. Governments and employees should work on how to increase purchasing power and strengthen the work-life balance.

To conclude, modern societies experience stress from numerous sources, but I believe social media and financial struggles are the most prominent of them. Individuals can tackle social media problem but governments should deal with financial problems to reduce stress in societies.