Students in school should learn academic subjects and pass exams. Other skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork can be learnt well from family and friends. Do you agree and disagree

For decades academic subjects have been always given more value, and passing exams has been a standout matter for students. Individuals assume that other skills such as cookery, dressmaking, and woodworking should not be taught in schools and can instead be learned from family. Although academic fields are crucial for students’ future, I believe other skills should be given equal consideration as much as academic subjects in schools.

To begin with, teaching craft skills in schools is as vital as academic curriculums, and these skills open up merit opportunities for students. Craft education such as woodwork and dressmaking can enhance the problem-solving, critical abilities, and creativity of students. For example, some students face barriers when learning maths, so if craft skills such as woodworking are taught alongside math, students can apply math in real life. Therefore, they need math to measure, design, and plan their project in order to construct a bridge with wood. Moreover, students can have positive interactions with others and be a solid member of a class. Therefore, learning craft education in schools can be practical and assist students in implementing some academic subjects into the real world.

On the other hand, advocates assume that the number of subjects is too high, and children should focus on them in terms of passing their exams. Due to competition among students to get high grades, schools give more value to curriculums that are pragmatic such as math and science in order to assist them in accomplishing academic goals and finding a decent job, and craft skills should be taught by family. Whereas parents play an important role in children’s lives, by working with children, parents can make the educational environment at home to teach children how to cook or make a dress. However, some parents due to their work schedules, do not have enough time to spend time with children to teach them these skills. As a result, schools are a better option to teach these skills.

In conclusion, cooking, and woodworking are important as academic fields and should be taken into account by schools. In my opinion, children need to see and experience the practical approach. These skills cannot be taught at home.