Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of how to keep students motivated was voiced a long time ago. The idea to reward those, who perform brightly may be the most common-spread one. Not all may agree with it, yet I fully gravitate towards the suggestion.

To begin with, recognition of the efforts students put into their work serves as an extrinsic fuel. The acknowledgement can be represented through implementing awards, which may vary from financial perks, free courses, to even grants and exchange programs. This way, teenagers should not only obtain motivation for further academic improvement, but also maintain it throughout the whole school period. As an illustration, to keep students engrossed in physical education, a school could collaborate with a local sports organization to provide a scholarship, fostering a healthy lifestyle and supporting athletes. In addition, for the disciplines such as law, linguistics, physics, and biology, internships at regional governance, laboratories, and companies would encourage young people to perform more diligently, as this experience might influence their future career choices, too.

Furthermore, intrinsic reasoning plays its role as well. Considering the latest tendency of urgency and performative productivity, there is a high likelihood that youthful minds will endure too much pressure just to fit the media standards and surge self-esteem. Consequently, teens are overwhelmed and experience burnouts. To alleviate the struggling, school psychologists should assemble constantan both private and group sessions for checking on a pupil’s well-being and a pleasant ambience in the class. Moreover, complimentary upskilling courses for teachers are bound to be implemented into the academic progress for them to upgrade not only their knowledge, but also fathom the psychology of the new generations and how to work with them specifically not to hurt absently.

In conclusion, introducing a rewarding system into schools would be an anticipated reform, guaranteeing to illustrate excellent results in students’ performance.