Students should pay full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society

It is believed that paying the entire amount of tuition fee should be the responsibility of each student since university education brings more benefits for individuals rather than society. In this essay, I would provide the reasons behind my partial support for this way of thinking.

On the one hand, there are some rationales that explain why students should be responsible for paying the tuition fee. Pursuing university education is not mandatory for every students. When they enter this path, they would be equipped with professional knowledge that will facilitate them more career opportunities in the future. For example, such an intellectual job currently requiring a bachelor’s degree is the basic requirement. Therefore, university education can open a door for individuals to get a good job and earn money. These benefits are exclusive for them and their family, making people claim that society should not cover their cost of study.

On the other hand, society can still experience a degree of benefit from covering tuition for students. Many nations around the world are under-developed due to the low spending level, which stem from high unemployment rates and the lack of high-quality workers. When more people go to university and graduate, they can become better candidates for job markets, which can boost their income and spending level. This lead to commercial improvement and economic development.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining who should pay for tuition fee of student at university, I believed that the ultimate decision should be evaluated individually. While sectors that can boost the development of society should receive national endorsement and funding, other ones should require students to bear the full cost of their education.